Coverart for item
The Resource Black square : adventures in post-Soviet Ukraine, Sophie Pinkham

Black square : adventures in post-Soviet Ukraine, Sophie Pinkham

Label
Black square : adventures in post-Soviet Ukraine
Title
Black square
Title remainder
adventures in post-Soviet Ukraine
Statement of responsibility
Sophie Pinkham
Title variation
Adventures in post-Soviet Ukraine
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"This captivating and original narrative blends politics, history, and reportage in a street-level account of a vexing and troubled region. In the tradition of Elif Batuman and Ian Frazier, Black Square presents an evocative, multidimensional portrait of Ukrainian life under the shadow of Putin. In vivid, original prose, Sophie Pinkham draws us into the fascinating lives of her contemporaries--a generation that came of age after the fall of the USSR, only to see protestors shot on Kiev's main square, Maidan; Crimea annexed by Russia; and a bitter war in eastern Ukraine. Amid the rubble, Pinkham tells stories that convey a youth culture flourishing within a tragically corrupt state. We meet a charismatic, drug-addicted doctor helping to smooth the transition to democracy, a Bolano-esque art gallerist prone to public nudity, and a Russian Jewish clarinetist agitating for Ukrainian liberation. With a deep knowledge of Slavic literature and a keen, outsider's eye for the dark absurdity of post-Soviet society, Pinkham delivers an indelible impression of a country on the brink."--Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
Index
index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
Label
Black square : adventures in post-Soviet Ukraine, Sophie Pinkham
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
New worlds -- The Paris of Siberia -- Resurrection -- City of gardens, city of ravines -- Men's day -- Living together -- Buckwheat and rye -- Carpathian cowboys -- The people's music -- The last Jew in Stalindorf -- The kingdom of the dead -- Revolution -- Dreaming of Europe -- Are you alive, brother -- Masks and monuments -- Reunion -- The wild steppe -- War and peace -- Heroes don't die -- Crashing -- New Year in Kiev -- Rocket city -- Victory day -- A note on sources
Control code
sky2ocm82705214
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First American edition.
Extent
xv, 288 pages
Isbn
9780393247978
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2016031600
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Label
Black square : adventures in post-Soviet Ukraine, Sophie Pinkham
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
New worlds -- The Paris of Siberia -- Resurrection -- City of gardens, city of ravines -- Men's day -- Living together -- Buckwheat and rye -- Carpathian cowboys -- The people's music -- The last Jew in Stalindorf -- The kingdom of the dead -- Revolution -- Dreaming of Europe -- Are you alive, brother -- Masks and monuments -- Reunion -- The wild steppe -- War and peace -- Heroes don't die -- Crashing -- New Year in Kiev -- Rocket city -- Victory day -- A note on sources
Control code
sky2ocm82705214
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First American edition.
Extent
xv, 288 pages
Isbn
9780393247978
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2016031600
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n

Library Locations

  • Bay Village BranchBorrow it
    502 Cahoon Road, Bay Village, OH, 44140, US
    41.483485 -81.925143
  • Beachwood BranchBorrow it
    25501 Shaker Boulevard, Beachwood, OH, 44122, US
    41.480023 -81.497353
  • Berea BranchBorrow it
    7 Berea Commons, Berea, OH, 44017, US
    41.365417 -81.852933
  • Brecksville BranchBorrow it
    9089 Brecksville Road, Brecksville, OH, 44141, US
    41.314242 -81.625908
  • Brook Park BranchBorrow it
    6155 Engle Road, Brook Park, OH, 44142, US
    41.398961 -81.822208
  • Brooklyn BranchBorrow it
    4480 Ridge Road, Brooklyn, OH, 44144, US
    41.434584 -81.735896
  • Chagrin Falls BranchBorrow it
    100 East Orange Street, Chagrin Falls, OH, 44022, US
    41.433688 -81.389189
  • Cuyahoga County Public LibraryBorrow it
    Parma, OH, 44134, US
    41.402929 -81.697346
  • Fairview Park BranchBorrow it
    21255 Lorain Road, Fairview Park, OH, 44126, US
    41.444123 -81.855905
  • Garfield Heights BranchBorrow it
    5409 Turney Road, Garfield Heights, OH, 44125, US
    41.415980 -81.603165
  • Gates Mills BranchBorrow it
    1491 Chagrin River Road, Gates Mills, OH, 44040, US
    41.520518 -81.404415
  • Independence BranchBorrow it
    6361 Selig Drive, Independence, OH, 44131, US
    41.377420 -81.647054
  • Maple Heights BranchBorrow it
    5225 Library Lane, Maple Heights, OH, 44137, US
    41.418085 -81.569649
  • Mayfield BranchBorrow it
    500 SOM Center Road, Mayfield Village, OH, 44137, US
    41.556180 -81.440920
  • MetroHealth Service PointBorrow it
    2500 MetroHealth Drive, Cleveland, OH, 44109, US
    41.462588 -81.697468
  • Middleburg Heights BranchBorrow it
    15600 East Bagley Road, Middleburg Heights, OH, 44130, US
    41.372112 -81.807860
  • North Olmsted BranchBorrow it
    27403 Lorain Road, North Olmsted, OH, 44070, US
    41.413533 -81.924630
  • North Royalton BranchBorrow it
    5071 Wallings Road, North Royalton, OH, 44133, US
    41.331242 -81.721667
  • Olmsted Falls BranchBorrow it
    8100 Mapleway Drive, Olmsted Falls, OH, 44138, US
    41.374492 -81.910033
  • Orange BranchBorrow it
    31975 Chagrin Boulevard, Pepper Pike, OH, 44124, US
    41.459072 -81.453511
  • Parma BranchBorrow it
    6996 Powers Boulevard, Parma, OH, 44129, US
    41.383683 -81.732021
  • Parma Heights BranchBorrow it
    6206 Pearl Road, Parma Heights, OH, 44130, US
    41.393477 -81.760631
  • Parma-Snow BranchBorrow it
    2121 Snow Road, Parma, OH, 44134, US
    41.404912 -81.697401
  • Richmond Heights BranchBorrow it
    5235 Wilson Mills Road, Richmond Heights, OH, 44143, US
    41.539892 -81.491299
  • Solon BranchBorrow it
    34125 Portz Parkway, Solon, OH, 44139, US
    41.380120 -81.435601
  • South Euclid-Lyndhurst BranchBorrow it
    1876 South Green Road, South Euclid, OH, 44121, US
    41.509537 -81.520366
  • Southeast BranchBorrow it
    70 Columbus Road, Bedford, OH, 44146, US
    41.394488 -81.534121
  • Strongsville BranchBorrow it
    18700 Westwood Drive, Strongsville, OH, 44136, US
    41.316980 -81.832314
  • Warrensville Heights BranchBorrow it
    4415 Northfield Road, Warrensville Heights, OH, 44128, US
    41.441084 -81.526114
Processing Feedback ...